Damn You, Muffin Man!

Pour yourself a cup of coffee, because I feel a story coming on!

There is a love/hate relationship with all things muffin-oriented in the kitchen of Recipe Book Rescue. A perfectly baked and spiced muffin is a glorious, hold-in-your-hand piece of heaven. Make special note of the key words in the preceding sentence…”perfectly baked.”

In all my decades of baking and cooking, I’ve attempted the “perfectly baked” muffin more times than a baker’s dozen. The definition of “perfectly baked” eludes me. The desirable delicate golden brown results often look more like clumps of scorched earth. If I’ve thrown away one muffin pan, I’ve thrown away half a dozen.

In my sad, muffin-less existence, my coffee flies solo. I know when to admit defeat and I’ll say it loud for all to hear, “Hi, my name is Sheri and I’m not a baker.”  I have waved the perfectly hoisted and bright white flag of surrender to the muffin.

That is until I discovered a recipe for a Bantam, Connecticut-born muffin, known as the Dirt Bomb! My excitement grew. I even contemplated purchasing another muffin pan. (This time, I’ll try a silicone option.) While doing research for another project, using Janet and Michael Stern’s 500 Things To Eat Before It’s Too Late (and the Very Best Places to Eat Them), I discovered a recipe for the Dirt Bomb. Attributed to the Bantam Bread Company, it is described on company’s website as a “nutmeg scented muffin, dipped in butter and Pouring Coffeerolled in cinnamon sugar.” You had me at nutmeg. Actually, you had me at the name – Dirt Bomb!

Now, I simply need to muster the courage to hand over some dough for yet another muffin pan, in hopes that my coffee will be lonely no more!

Dirt Bomb

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup milk

Topping

  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 cup sugar mixed with 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  1. Grease a 12-cup muffin tin and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer.
  3. Beat in the eggs, one at a time.
  4. Combine the dry ingredients. Add one third of the dry ingredients and one third of the the milk to the butter-sugar mixtures. Beat at low speed until just barely mixed. Repeat twice, until all the ingredients are mixed together and the batter is smooth.
  5. Fill the greased muffin tin and bake for about 20 minutes, until the muffins are golden brown. Cool on a rack. When cool enough to handle, dip each bomb in the melted butter and roll it in the cinnamon sugar.
  6. Dirt bombs are best when served still slightly warm, but they will keep for several hours.

Makes 12 muffins.

Resource Attribution:  500 Things To Eat Before It’s Too Late (and the Very Best Place to Eat Them). Jane and Michael Stern. New York, NY: 2009.

 

Leave a Reply

